Welcome to, the home of digital string music. Here you can access several hundred string music scores starting at the very low cost of £9.99 for a six months subscription. This site aims to help you spend less time arranging and looking for string music and more time teaching and making music happen.

New scores are added every month and you can even request a score if it's not available. Have a browse through the catalogue and see what scores we have... If you have any questions please do get in touch.

Below you will find our latest additions.

Sibelius Romance Op. 78 No. 2 for Violin and String Orchestra

It was always been common practice for composers to write smaller works as a means of increasing their income.  Sibelius was now different from many of his contemporary and composed a wide range of salon pieces.  Most of these were composed for the piano or violin and piano.  When asked by his daughter Katarina why he composed these small pieces, when he should be writing great works, he replied, "To provide you with bread and butter."

In 1915 Sibelius composed his four Pieces for violin and piano, Op.78.   This Romance is the second of these pieces and was also published for cello and piano.  

We must remember that Sibelius was a violinist! Sibelius was 50 in 1915 and in his diary he famously admitted of "Dreaming of being twelve years old and a violin virtuoso".  This Romance is far from being a virtuoso piece but it is filled with charm.

Click "Continue reading" to view the score

Members can download the score here

Not a member?  You can join MyMusicScores from £9.99 and download all of the scores to your computer. Join

Continue reading
2046 Hits